There’s No Secret To Self-Publishing

Publishing-Now

If you’ve read my previous blog post The Wake Up Call Every Writer Dreads, then you’ll know of my falling out with my publisher. It was a shocker when I first learned of my publisher’s dishonesty. There are thousands of writers these days trying to publish their book and figure out what’s best for them. Many of them venture down the path of self-publishing but others are more timid. It only makes sense that Indie Publishers would become dime-a-dozen. What I didn’t suspect was the dishonesty behind Indie Publishers.
I’m not here to rant about greedy Indie Publishers who have abused aspiring writers. I haven’t met every Indie Publisher out there. I’m sure there are a few who really try to better the lives of their writers. Unfortunately, I’ve only had a bad experience with an Indie Publisher. I’m here to point out that self-publishing isn’t really that hard. From first glance, it seems extremely difficult and more stress than worth it. That was my initial thought too, but I’ve come to realize it’s far easier than you think.

I’ve spent the past two weeks pouring over my manuscript with red ink pen in hand. The difficult part of self-publishing is editing your manuscript and making sure it’s pristine. I’d go as far to say this is the most difficult part of publishing on your own besides figuring out the legalities. After you’ve read your manuscript a dozen times, it starts look all the same. Trying to find a mistake is like searching for a needle in a haystack. I finished editing yesterday.

The next step for me is formatting my book. According to Amazon, all eBooks need to be saved in a Word document. This part is the easiest. All it takes is a few clicks. Open Word Processor, choose your font, and how you want your book to appear. I’ll write a blog post about this later.

After you format your book, you want to research every option available for publishing online. There’s Amazon, selling directing from your site, print-on-demand, Barnes & Nobles, and a few other websites. Currently, Amazon is the best option out there. It allows readers to easily access your book. I’ve been considering selling my book on my website as well, but I haven’t researched it enough to make a decision.

The not-so-fun part besides editing is the legal stuff. However, this is the most important part of publishing. You’ll want to know exactly what you’re getting yourself into. The more informed you are, the better choices you will make. I’ll also dedicate a blog post to this section and I’ll go over Amazon’s legal agreement for publishing.

Does this still seem hard and terribly stressful to you? Don’t worry. You’re not alone. I promised to keep a live blog on my publishing efforts. Most articles on the internet about self-publishing online are helpful but they don’t offer the best step-by-step guidance. They’re written by people who went through the self-publishing process but did it so long ago that they’ve mostly forgotten what it was like. My blog posts are different because I’m doing it Now. I also might have an open session for questions.

That’s all for now. I’ll keep you updated.

Leave a Reply

