Writing: Stuck in a Scene

Brainstorming

I’m currently going through my novel that is soon to be published. And I’m stuck. Yes, I admitted it. I don’t quite know what to do. A few weeks ago, my editor returned my novel with a lot of edits and helpful advice. Her main consensus: My characters require further development. That is what I’ve been up to. It’s been going really well for the most part until now.

I don’t want to say too much and give everything away. My problem is with the father. I want to write a scene that explores his character, but I’m having difficulty. Up to this point so far in the story, he’s a workaholic who doesn’t appreciate the fact he has a daughter. I want to show why he is a workaholic and why he treats his daughter the way he does. I’m having difficulties figure out exactly how I can show this, but I’m sure I’ll figure it out.

I’ll just be over here endlessly brainstorming until I do.

One thought on “Writing: Stuck in a Scene”

  1. Sometimes we are workaholics because we grew up with so much less and we look at our children and want to lessen their difficulties by helping in the materialistic sense, which seems to be what the world is about now a days……but what they really need is our time and our patience and our love….until we change this perspective we will never appreciate anything or anyone that we have in our lives……

    Like

Leave a Reply

