The X-Files Return! But Can It Be the Same?

xfiles

Yes, finally! After waiting 13 years, the X-Files return for six episodes. I discovered the X-Files after my dad introduced me to the series and the very handsome Mulder in high school. I was immediately hooked. The plot twists were incredible. The stories were always fascinating. And Mulder… Dreamy eyes, lanky body, and charming personality if somewhat quirky sometimes. Like most X-Files fans, I only recognize Seasons 1 – 7 and the first movie. Seasons 8 & 9 and the second movie were so below par I can’t stand thinking of them. But now Fox has decided the show must return.

Anyone who’s ever seen the series is rejoicing. Let’s all get our party hats and go to town. But, will it work? Or will these six episodes be just like the second movie? The X-Files magic seemed to disappear after season 7. After what happened a decade ago with Firefly, I’m a little hesitant to trust Fox. I’m just as excited as everyone else to see this series make a return but my stomach feels queasy at the same time too.

The 1990’s was very different than today. Besides the most obvious changes like technology, a lot has changed politically and on TV. The X-Files was a somewhat controversial show. It questioned the government and fought for the truth. There aren’t really any shows of that same scale today. I can’t think of one. The X-Files was a phenomenal show. The acting of David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson and everyone on that show were superb. The writers knew what they were doing and exactly how to create a gripping story. The producers were great. The show was one of the best things to come out of the 1990s.

But the important question, can it still be done? My guess… It’ll be great but don’t get your hopes up too high.

The six episodes will begin filming this summer. If you want more updates, I’d suggest checking out David or Gillian’s twitter pages. When this show airs, you can count on me to watch it.

Leave a Reply

