The Best Places To Write Outside of Home

I hate writing at home. There are too many distractions. When I’m home, all I want to do is relax and turn on Netflix or my Xbox. I don’t want to do work and it’s really hard to get myself to work. I love going some place other than my house to write. I find that I have a lot more focus and I can’t accomplish a lot more in a little amount of time.

The places I try to go to are usually quiet with few people. I hate large crowds and noisy spots. I can’t focus or even hear myself think. Over the years, I’ve compiled the perfect list of places to write. Here are the qualifications for a perfect place to work. Mind you, it doesn’t have to be just writing. You can be working on school or a project for your business.

Qualifications… The place has to be:
– Quiet
– Few people
– Have A/C or heating
– Comfortable
– Bathroom facilities
– WIFI (the most important)

Here are my list of places that offer the best setting to write/work in…

1. University / School
university
This is the top of my list because it’s the best. Universities or schools always have a library, a classroom that’s free, and many other spots that provide a comfortable place to sit down and plug in your laptop. Schools always have a bathroom that is accessible, A/C or heating, and vending machines for when you get the munchies or are thirsty, and free WIFI. The only downside is that there are usually large crowds of people to found here. The good thing is that mostly everyone is a student which means they’re usually quietly studying.

2. The Hospital
BethesdaHeartHospital
I love going to hospitals to do work. You can generally find a quiet spot with few people to get some work done. It’s always air conditioned, have bathrooms and most hospitals now have free WIFI. Some also have a small cafe. Plus, unlike schools or libraries, hospitals are open everyday. The downside is that most of the people visiting the hospital are sick. Which means you’re at risk of getting ill.

3. Hotel
Royal-Park-Hotel
The bigger the hotel the better. Hotels in big cities usually have conference rooms, small dining rooms, or lounges you can sneak into and work. Most hotel staff won’t bother you either unless you look oddly out of place or are somewhere you’re not allowed. It’s always air conditioned, have free WIFI, and bathrooms. Hotels can be crowded and noisy but it depends on the location and time of day. In smaller hotels, it’s harder to sneak into a conference or breakfast room and set up shop. But I find that if you just tell the front desk that you aren’t a guest but would like to use their wifi, they will generally be happy to accommodate you.

4. The library
library3
It might surprise you to find this as the last item on my list. I don’t tend to write or work on projects in public libraries. They’re always filled with noisy people and are limited in comfortable places to work.

One thought on “The Best Places To Write Outside of Home”

Leave a Reply

